Guberman & Appleby | Immigration Lawyers

New Eligibility for Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA)

Immigration Lawyers USA

Eligible individuals from thirteen (13) countries that previously required Temporary Resident Visas to enter Canada will now be able to come to Canada by air to visit for business or pleasure for up to six (6) months by applying for an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA).  

The countries included are:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

In order to be eligible for the eTA, applicants must have already held a Temporary Resident Visa for Canada in the last 10 years or hold a valid US non-immigrant visa.

Individuals from these countries who do not meet the eligibility requirements or are entering Canada by car, bus, train, boat or cruise ship, will still need to apply for a Temporary Resident Visa.

To apply for an eTA, travellers require a valid passport, a credit card, an email address and access to the Internet. Since its inception in 2015, nearly 21 million eTAs have been issued.